Being a Jerk on the Internet

Okay here we go! Epic rant time!!  Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve had one of these, but it’s time for me to hop on my soapbox and say something.

Now, for some back story, let me tell you some stuff.  I read fanfiction, a lot of it actually… I even wrote a post about some of the ones I read, (What Has Ravenna Been Up To?) and the reasons why I love them.  But lately I’ve been hearing some things.  Awful things about fanfiction.  Mostly on Tumblr (which I don’t use) where internet bullies (Trolls) are going around on people’s pages, authors or commenters, and are telling people to KILL THEMSELVES.  I’m not kidding.  There are actually assholes out there actively telling young people to go kill themselves.  You know why? Because they don’t like or agree with what the other person likes.  What. the. Almighty. Fuck? Really?  And the saddest part, is that those young people are listening to those trolls and actually committing suicide!!  WHAT?! WHY?!

What is WRONG WITH PEOPLE?!  I’m not kidding, what the hell is wrong with the world?  I almost didn’t want to believe that this was a real issue, and then it happened to me, here on this blog.  Because some shithead out there doesn’t like that I like Helsing fanfiction featuring Alucard and Seras together.  Oh my goddess.  I was just flabbergasted… I’ve never had something like that happen to me before.  I couldn’t believe it!

So here I am, sitting here stewing on that little bit of hatred sent my way (I mean really, of all the things I could be blasted for, you blast me for liking a fanfiction pairing?! Really?) and I remember hearing about other people being told to kill themselves or being threatened with rape and murder.  Female game designers.  You know, I don’t want to get in on that mess, really, I don’t.  But I will say one thing – telling someone you are going to find them, rape them, beat them, and/or kill them is WRONG.  It should be a crime against humanity.  Telling someone to go kill themself because they have a different view than yours is WRONG and should be a crime against humanity.

To all those internet trolls out there, do you act that way in real life, too?  Are you that much of an asshole in reality that it bleeds into your internet usage as well? What gives you the right to tell people such cruel things?  Does it make you feel powerful? Do you get off on it?  Does it somehow make you feel better in your own miserable existence to make someone else feel awful?

The world is not black and white.  It is in full color, and there are MANY paths to walk in this life.  There are many ways to think, feel and express ourselves.  But it doesn’t need to be done in such a way that you are hateful, cruel or just downright evil to another human being.  YOU DON’T HAVE THE RIGHT TO TREAT ME LIKE SHIT!!  YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO TREAT OTHER PEOPLE LIKE SHIT!!  It is things like that that make me lose my faith in humanity.  I am just floored that people really act like that.  ADULTS act like this!  I can’t stand it! I can’t stand the hatred and evil that is spewed everyday all over the world because people don’t want to get along.

I wrote a blog post a couple years ago on bullying of all kinds.  Why are we so afraid of people who are different?  Are we not secure in our own lives that we must bring another down in order to feel good again?  We must continue to spread hate instead of turning around and saying “I recognize that you are afraid.  It’s okay, I’m afraid too.  Let’s work together to find how we are similar.”  That we cannot turn around and say “I love you”.  Why?  Why can we not just take joy in the fact that we are alive?  Why must we point out all the ways we are different (religion, gender, sexual preference and identity, race, political leanings, age) instead of finding how we are similar (human).  What makes you think that you are the person who gets to be the judge, jury, and executioner on the internet?  I try to spread love as much as I can, but I am also human.  I get angry, and make mistakes and react just as much as anyone else.  But I don’t go around telling people messed up shit.  I have never told someone to kill themself.  I have never told someone to harm themself.  Especially not over something so stupid as to what they like to read.

There are a lot of things going on in the world right now, and I honestly believe that if we stopped just for a moment and recognized our sameness, 90% of our problems world wide would vanish.  I’m not joking.  We all want the same things – to love and be loved in return.  To be happy, to have homes of our own, to be successful, to care for our families.  We need to stop being jerks and hiding behind masks on the internet.  There is a sickness in the world, and we are feeding that sickness by not taking to task the ones who are hateful.  We are not doing our jobs of making sure that we call out people for bullying.   How are we supposed to end it, if we don’t speak up against it?

Do me a favor.  Stop and think before you say/write something mean to another person.  Ask yourself, would it make you feel good if someone said it to you?  And if the answer is “no”, then don’t do it.  Take the advice of Thumper from Bambi… “if you can’t say something nice – don’t say anything at all.” We don’t need any more negativity in the world.  Stop feeding the hate and instead feed love and acceptance.

Okay I’m done for now.

Peace and Blessings to you all,

Much love,

~ Ravenna

Categories: Life

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Being a Jerk on the Internet

  1. Ron Poh

    I agree with you completely. I firmly believe that out society is ever more rapidly deteriorating. If I was Christian I could almost believe the “End Times” are approaching. I’m not though, I am a Pagan witch, so have to look elsewhere for an explanation. I would put the blame squarely on a combination of people’s baser, reptilian instincts in conjunction with the ability of The Internet to allow people to let those instincts out in a manner insulating them from reprisal or argument. Before the web if we said shit to someone it had to be personal or via snail mail or phone. Those avenues could lead to the aforesaid reprisals. In the old west, without telephones and such it could get you shot. People tend to do what they can get away with, and the vast majority of people are quite nasty in their inner selves.

  2. Dear Ravenna, How HORRIBLE YOU HAD TO FEEL THE EMOTIONAL ABUSE From This Emotionally Stunted Coward….about 12 years ago i had an internet attack just for being Wiccan it was EXTREMELY UGLY & HATEFUL & ROCKED ME TO MY CORE!!! I LOST SOOOOO MUCH FAITH IN LIFE from the attack & it took several years for me to realize just how UNHAPPY People in general are & that some use it to justify in their minds & spirits senseless attacks on others to feel pleasure…..unfortunately during my realization years i came to finally face i have a sister & her husband whom actually derive pleasure in creating turmoil, pain & suffering in others…..HOW ARE WE FROM THE SAME GENETIC CLOTH?? …i tried incessently for answers, but back in 2007 i found lifelines on the internet from bloggers such as yourself & that has allowed me to shed & let go without understanding of the person or persons with sooooo much destruction brewing inside themselves…..one of my realizations? not having to always understand….. that was BIG in recovering….. just remember for every 1 of them there are truely @ least 5 or more of US LIKE MINDEDNESS…… & we find you Inspiring, a Fresh Breath of Spring & even on your sad or bad days Loveable….. i Hope You Are Able to Shed the Ugliness Spewd Upon You Very Soon & Remember Us Other Like Mindedness not only are We together with You in the Sunshine & Lollipops, but also with You in the Darkness & Scary Shadows…… Bright, Loving & Carefree Blessings to Help Wash Away the OOZE, LadyMoonGazer 8-)))

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

