Happy and Blessed Ostara!!

 So today is the Spring Equinox! Hurray!! I always find it amusing these days that most of American society view the starts/ends of the seasons on the days where it’s actually the MIDDLE of the season.  Like Winter for instance.  Winter “starts” December 21, the Winter Solstice.  Which to me is half-way through the season, because it can’t get any darker than the winter solstice, every day thereafter will be lighter and lighter until the summer solstice in June.  So when is the first day of winter?  Samhain, October 31st.  Why? Because it is BITTER ASS cold out, and things have already begun to decay and die, and snow in some places.

So for me, spring starts in February, on Imbolc.  Why?! It’s still cold and snowy and nasty… yes, true… BUT! If you pay attention to the signs… life is returning and you can see the first brave plants and flowers beginning to grow.  By the Spring Equinox,  most of the snow is melted or nearly melted and the earth is greening more and more.  The Light overtakes the Dark and the wheel turns, bringing us ever closer to summer.

Ostara is the Sabbat celebrating balance, light and dark.  Day and night are equal, poised and balanced, but about to tip over on the side of light. The spring equinox is sacred to dawn, youth, the morning star and the east. The Saxon goddess, Eostre (from whose name we get the direction East and the holiday Easter) is a dawn goddess, like Aurora of Roman times and Eos from the Greeks.   Just as the dawn is the time of new light, so the vernal equinox is the time of new life.

So yeah, Spring has sprung in my book and I am a very happy girl for that.  I’m not a big fan of cold and winter (I’ve said it before, many many times) and the past couple of days have been wonderful for me.  Just beautiful… though I did see some clouds today.  But thankfully, I know that spring has arrived at last and I look forward to more days of sunshine to come… even if I know it’s going to rain again this week, and for a while to come, lol.

Short post tonight guys… I’m tired and going to bed… maybe more tomorrow? Yup.

Love you all!

~ Ravenna

Categories: Life, Paganism, Sabbats

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

