Movies, Broom Closets and Spring Break is DONE!

So   this past Sunday I took Aiden and Finn out to see the new Dreamworks “How to Train Your Dragon” movie in 3D.  OH MY GODDESS!! What a great movie it is!  Seriously, I haven’t seen a kids movie THAT good in a while now.  Sure there are a lot of cute ones that have come out, but “Dragons” is one that we could happily watch over and over again.  Aiden is already talking about how we need to go see it again.  There were some great one liners, and the storyline, the scenery – AMAZING.  Just visually stunning.  I am actually hoping to take Steve to it and see it with me again.  Either that or I want to go see the remake of “Clash of the Titans”.  I’ve heard conflicting things about it, some people really like it, and some hate it, so I guess what it boils down to is that I’ll have to go see it and decide for myself.  Yup.

Photobucket

And now for another Pagan Blog Prompt!

Are you in or out of the Broom Closet? Do others (beyond the computer screen) know what you believe and practice? Or is this something, for whatever reason, that you need to keep hidden? Feel free to elaborate, if you like, about why you are still in, or what it was like ‘coming out of the closet’ to your closest family and friends.

So most people that know me, know that I am openly Pagan.  Not that I shout it from the tree tops or anything, but I don’t deny it either.  I guess it’s kind of complicated really.  So for those not in the know: the “Broom Closet” is what we Pagans refer to as to whether or not we are publicly pagan, as in does the rest of the world know?  If you’re in the broom closet, then no.  If out, then well, people know.  I don’t think that I have ever been in the “broom closet” since I became pagan.  It wasn’t something that I ever felt ashamed of, and for the most part, my family while concerned that I was a “devil worshipper” eventually realized that it was nothing like that.  Though once, right after I started studying Wicca, my Grams had my first Book of Shadows (witch’s journal/magic book) burned, which caused me to totally freak out, but I got over it.

I was pretty vocal about my being a witch in the early days, it was something that I was incredibly passionate about, and I wanted to share how much it changed my life (similar to when people find Jesus).  I can’t say that I ever tried to “convert” people, but I still wanted to share the beauty of it, to educate people about what it was really all about.  These days, I’m quite so vocal about it.  I’m still incredibly passionate about my beliefs, I’m just softer with it.  If people ask me about my beliefs, I’ll give a generic answer: Honor the cycles of the Earth, honor balance with myself and nature around me, and so on.  A few people have actually asked me point blank, and they get the point blank answer: Yes, I am Pagan.  Not necessarily Wiccan… but I guess if it makes someone feel better, then yes: call me Wiccan, the beliefs are similar enough that it doesn’t bother me.

I still remember when I first told my Dad.  I guess that would be my only experience with coming out of the “Broom Closet”.  He was a little weirded out by it, and I remember being very nervous about telling him.  He thought he’d have to attend Church again to pray for my soul, but when I was describing my beliefs, he was all like: “Oh, so you’re Wiccan.  That’s okay then.” 

“No Dad, I’m a pagan witch.”

“But you just said you believe in this: (insert beliefs).”

“Yeah, and that’s what I believe in.”

“Sooo… you’re Wiccan.”

“Sure Dad.  If it makes you comfortable, I am Wiccan.” 

It was pretty cool though.  I sometimes forget how educated my Dad really is.  The alcoholism tends to make me forget this.  But he is really, very smart.  It surprised me, he knew quite a bit about Wicca and Earth-Based Religions.  I’ve heard a lot of horror stories from people about when they “came out” to their family, and it went over hideously for them.  I guess I got lucky in the fact that my Dad is in fact educated on the subject.

Photobucket

And on another subject… Spring Break is over for the older two boys.  They were home all of last week, and it rained pretty much the whole week.  Not that it stopped Aiden from having a good time with his friends.  He got to have 2 of his friends stay over night one night, and Aiden stayed over at another friend’s house on a different night.  Finn had a chance to spend some one on one time with his Dad and Grandpa during the week, so it was good for him.  In the end, I’m glad that break is over, because then I get a break from all the kids hanging out at my house everyday, haha!!

So anyway, that’s all I got for now, I have a horrible toothache today, and my dentist prescribed some pain relievers for it until I can get in to have the tooth fixed… so I’m feeling a little loopy right now, yay!

Blessings,

~ Ravenna

Categories: Life, Paganism, The Kids

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

